Sepultura - Beneath The Remains
Sepultura - Beneath The Remains
Sepultura - Beneath The Remains

Sepultura - Beneath The Remains

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Sold out
Tax included.

Sepultura’s acclaimed 1989 album, "Beneath The Remains", marks the band’s major label debut on Roadrunner. Widely regarded today as a thrash-metal classic, the album perfectly distilled the Brazilian band’s potent mix of piercing melodies and pummelling rhythms. 

In December 1988, brothers Max (guitar/vocals) and Igor Cavalera (drums), Paulo Jr. (bass) and Andreas Kisser (guitar) recorded "Beneath the Remains" in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil with producer Scott Burns. Soon after its release in April 1989, the album was hailed by fans and critics alike for standout songs like “Inner Self,” “Primitive Future” and the title track. The album has been remastered especially for this collection.
The Deluxe 2CD Edition also features nine unreleased “mixdown” recordings taken from the Beneath the Remains sessions at Nas Nuvens Studios in Rio de Janeiro. Highlights include versions of “Lobotomy” and “Mass Hypnosis,” as well as instrumental versions “Slaves Of Pain” and “Sarcastic Existence.” The studio tracks are complemented by unreleased recordings of the band performing live on September 22, 1989 at the Zeppelinhalle, West Germany. The concert features songs from "Beneath the Remains" (“Primitive Future” and “Inner Self”) and the band’s previous albums (“Troops Of Doom” and “Escape To The Void”), along with covers of Black Sabbath’s “Symptom Of the Universe” and the Dead Kennedys “Holiday In Cambodia.”


LP 1

  • 1. Beneath the Remains
  • 2. Inner Self
  • 3. Stronger Than Hate
  • 4. Mass Hypnosis
  • 5. Sarcastic Existence
  • 6. Slaves of Pain
  • 7. Lobotomy
  • 8. Hungry
  • 9. Primitive Future

LP 2

  • 1. Beneath the Remains (Mixdown)
  • 2. Inner Self (Mixdown) – Instrumental
  • 3. Stronger Than Hate (Mixdown) – Instrumental
  • 4. Mass Hypnosis (Mixdown)
  • 5. Troops Of Doom (Live 9/22/89)
  • 6. Sarcastic Existence (Mixdown) – Instrumental
  • 7. Slaves Of Pain (Mixdown) – Instrumental
  • 8. Lobotomy (Mixdown)
  • 9. Hungry (Mixdown) – Instrumental
  • 10. Primitive Future (Mixdown)